top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarrington Iris

My NYFW Experience

It's finally here!! Sorry it has taken me so long to put my experience into words, but read on if you want to know more about my NYFW experience!


I'm not even sure where to begin but I have to say I had the most amazing time in New York. As you guys know I moved to LA to pursue my modeling career and as I started to learn the industry and market in the west coast region, it became clear that New York was where I needed to go to further my career.


The People

I remember being so nervous on my flight to New York because much like my LA move I didn't have much solidified. It was my first time staying in the East Coast. I arrived in New York late at night and I had castings and meeting the next morning so I didn't have time to explore. The following day I met some of the most talented individuals ever. I didn't set expectations for the trip, but I must say the people I met in New York made Fashion Week all the better. I was able to connect with so many people who understood the creative lifestyle and career choice, which deepened the conversations and forged strong bonds that would later turn into friendships. It seemed like everyone I met understood the universal yet complex field of art!


Photo Credit: This photo was taken on my snapchat (thelifeofiris). This was one of my favorite designs (IG: @haynes20000 & @fashiontoyphotos34) of fashion week. Also, the model in this picture ( Ig: @_lexiid_) became good friends soon after!


Photo Credit: After the shows wrapped it was super late but no one wanted to go home. The bar manager kept the bar opened after hours for us. I wish I could remember the name! ( IG from left to right: @pay.close.attention, @realaudran, @jvon15, @_lexiid_)


Photo Credit: We attended a couple of the same castings that day and we were starving! (IG left to right: @_lexiid_ , @cyrenerenee, @thelifeofiris)


Photo Credit: We were headed to the Kim Shui after party at Fig and Olive. (IG from left to right @lesliebembinster , @thelifeofiris , @daniellemareka )



Photo Credit: After the show is the after party. (IG from left to right @thelifeofiris, @fucksteebs, @_lexiid_)





The Shows

At the time, I did not have a consistent manager or agency behind me so I was booking all of my shows and castings on my own. I don't want to dwell on the tedious process, because I want this post to highlight how blessed I felt (and still feel) to be able to experience my dream. I would go to 4 to 5 castings a day and then turn around and go to rehearsals and fulfill other obligations per the designer’s request. When the shows officially started it was chaos (the good, rewarding kind). I would more often than not have an early call time, walk in the show, and then be rushed to get to my next show. Although, I enjoyed the hustle and bustle of being busy and booked, I wish I had taken the time to enjoy every show, every after party, and every networking opportunity that arose. Why? Because I have chosen to make modeling my career and I never want to get to the point where I am just going through the motions. I want to be present in every moment and not be worried about what's next all the time.



Photo Credit: My heart skipped a beat when I saw my face on the same board as models I looked up to.



Photo Credit: Here, I am in hair and makeup for Candice Cuoco and Vaneesa Simmon's Sirens collection. #BadButterfly



Photo credit: It was the last casting of the day and I was so excited to go explore New York.



Photo Credit: We were 2 minutes until show time and I still was not in my garment properly. I also, had not had my hair finished. #modellife #chaos (IG: samara.kay)



Photo Credit: When you're in love with muslin. (IG:@haynes20000 & @fashiontoyphotos34)



The highlight of my trip was meeting Michael Costello. I have been following his career since his Project Runway days! When he designed Beyonce's white lace floral dress for the Grammy's he had 1000% won me over. That day I was coming from a show and headed to another show. My call time for my next show was quickly approaching and I had just saw him post about a meet and greet at Inglot. When I tell you I dropped everything to see this man, I did ! He gave the most empowering speech ever that totally motivated me to go harder, hone in on my craft, and enjoy the totality of the experience. I didn't get to stay long because I had a show to walk in, but that day easily makes it into my top 10 best days on Earth!




Photo Credit: Me and Michael Costello!


All in all, I had an incredible experience!



12 views0 comments

Blog

bottom of page